Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God…”

I sometimes forget that I am only human and God is so much bigger.., than everything. This has been a life verse for me since my late 20’s, maybe even before that without my knowledge, and I still struggle with letting God be my guide. As the seventh child of eight, I grew up exploring and finding my way mostly on my own. So it’s in my nature to just figure it out and try my luck and hope for the best results. It doesn’t always turn out that way.

In a large family one always competes for attention and its easy to get lost among the crowd. In fact, I was lost once as a child when my family was eating at a local restaurant, “The Copper Penny”. I was about 5 years old and we were all on our way to see our new home. Mom told us all to go use the bathroom and wash up so we could head on over to the house. When I entered the restroom, I decided that the mirrors needed cleaning. So I hopped up on the sink and started to wipe away. One by one my siblings and friends entered and left, reminding me that we were leaving. When I finally finished in the restroom, I returned to the table to find my family and friends were gone! I was left behind! Can you imagine how frightened and alone I felt? Fear overcame me instantly and I began to cry. The waitress came over and introduced me to 2 officers eating their breakfast and after Hershey bars and hot chocolate at the police station, I was reunited with my family.

The point of telling this story is to illustrate how I chose to go my own way. I didn’t follow instructions from my guide (Mom) and I got lost. The same is true when we step away from the loving presence of our Lord. He is our guide at all times. Isaiah 41:10 says, “fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” When we listen to His instructions, we can be assured of peace and protection within His covering. God is more aware of all the circumstances surrounding our event and therefore His wisdom is greater than our own. Truly we are never alone, God is always present.

As I look back over the years where I have suffered failures, I realize how I didn’t call on the Lord for His wisdom. I tried to take control and in many of those moments, the results were devastating.

What are you struggling with today? This week? This month? Have you called on His wisdom? Start today. Let Him carry your burden and “Be still and know that He is God”!

About Tami G

I am 44 years of age and married to an amazing gift from God, Jonathan. Together we have 3 incredible children, Aubrey, Johnathan and Presley, and we are the perfect "blend". Today, I begin a journey to rediscover the woman God created me to be. I have made myself available to my Heavenly Father to use it for His glory and purpose; a little scary but possibly entertaining. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

